Thread: pay grade

Field Supervisor 500+ Posts
    pay grade

pay grade

ok i am just curious about this if anyone is willing to reply. i am from a small town and have worked for 2 different copier companies. the latest and largest only has 4 techs. first place i worked 5 years as a kyocera tech. and occasional odd machine here and there. current location is lexmark and ricoh dealership where i have been for almost 4 years. i am a certified tech on both brands. and i am also a brother tech. being from a small area i know that i don't make near what the bigger cities make. and have found a new job that i am considering in a much larger city. but what is the pay comparison? what does a new guy start out making? and what does one with experience start out making in the bigger city areas? i would be going from a town of less than 20,000 to one of almost 200,000. as this would involve a move and a new job any input would be greatly appreciated in perhaps helping me make my decision. i believe that since the new place is larger they have dedicated techs for new installs, networking, service, and repairs back at the office. since we are such a small business i have the experience in all those areas. though i don't know it all, i am not beyond asking my co-workers for assistance. and i will pick up the phone and call lexmark or ricoh when needed. so dare i journey into this new adventure?

Senior member of CRS 2,500+ Posts
    pay grade

Re: pay grade

If you find out the average tech pay for that area, make a deal with the owner that you will accept that pay for 3-6 months, and if you have exceeded their expectations, you would want a review with an equivalent pay raise.
    "You can't trust your eyes, if your mind is out of focus" --