Service Manager 2,500+ Posts
    HP Laserjet P4014 - non-print  - REPOSTED

HP Laserjet P4014 - non-print - REPOSTED

My Apologies...I reposted this, because I forgot about the issue with post titles ending in the word "print"

Hey all....I think this is my first time in the HP forum. I like what you've done with the place

I work almost exclusively with Ricoh stuff, except that I get tasked with doing some of the routine maintenances, etc, on printers around the office.
    Today I was told that the printer would often just not print anything, and that they would then turn the printer off/on, and once it rebooted the jobs would come out. It was demonstrated to me, and it happened from all 3 connected pc's - 1 running Win7 and 2 others on Win10.
    I was also told that it comes and goes to some extent. For example, Yesterday it was fine most of the day.
    I also tried connecting it to a different port in the network switch, and a new cable, and all other devices on the same switch have no issues.
    I'm sure that the F/W likely hasn't ever been done, so that's probably not a bad spot to start.
    I removed and reseated the formatter, and blew it clean with compressed air (there was no additional ram to remove/ replace).
    I haven't checked the manual yet ( I have to search for one). Is there a complete reset that I could try in the service menu?
    I did the 'factory reset' in the regular menu. It didn't help, but it also didn't even reset the IP address.

I appreciate any input.

Senior Tech 250+ Posts

Re: HP Laserjet P4014 - non-print - REPOSTED

It sounds like a similar thing that happens to a lot of printers attached to windows 10 or 8 or maybe now 7.
    Probably need to uninstall printer on each computer and reinstall using the drivers from hp website instead of
    drivers in the windows library.

Quote Originally Posted by copydocinc View Post