Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Service Manager 2,500+ Posts
    Bizhub C224e/C258 series fuser premature failure

Re: Bizhub C224e/C258 series fuser premature failure

Quote Originally Posted by copyman View Post
    I've been rebuilding these fusers for a few years now. Only parts I replace is the belt & lower fuser roller (both sold at copylite). Recently came across a high volume fuser that needed the sponge roller inside of the belt (small bearing disintegrated and cut into shaft). These sponge rollers are sold by China suppliers but hard to get in USA. Copylite lists them but are wrong rollers. Just a side note when you have a noisy fuser it's from these small bearings on sponge roller drying out.

This isn't something I would do in a customer's office. Lay everything out in order you take apart. Might take you several hours first time but eventually can be done in less than 2 hours. Much easier then the Biz C253. I take pictures first time I rebuild a fuser, etc.

One last thing C454 fuser is identical except the lamp & Lower fuser roller are different. (although I have swapped the connector on a C224 for lamp to work in a C454) Wires a little shorter but works!

Hope this helps
    I wanted to add something very important, I also automatically replace the 2 small bearings on the sponge roller. This will stop any noise from the fuser plus not disintegrate and ruin the sponge roller shafts! bearings available aftermarket or very common used in many Kon/Min models. I take them from finishers that I'm scraping. Example: There are 4 - 6 of these small bearings in a FS-534.

Service Manager 1,000+ Posts Bix's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by copier tech View Post
    My time is more valuable, 4/5 calls per day, if I was rebuilding fusers that would be halved then 10 calls the following day.

The beauty of working on Bizhubs if the fact that all the main components are simple & quick to replace, why ruin that.