Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14

Thread: F248

  1. #1
    Technician
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    oxfordshire
    Posts
    26
    Rep Power
    21

    F248

    I see this code in the event log on virtually every machine i go to.

    One TA6052ci i went to had the code every time they printed a page from windows explorer but just certain web pages , I then tried printing the web page in chrome browser and it worked fine .

    So after checking Fw & updating machine as per Service Bulletin (SB 2ND-0023(G221) F248 printing certain files ) this made no difference at all.

    I did however find the only way to get everything printing OK was to untick Advanced Printing Features in the advanced tab under Printer Properties on the Driver KX702415 on the Server.

    I wish Kyocera would make this unticked by default when installing the driver as i think this would solve a lot of intermittent errors especially if the customer is using PaperCut or other print management solution . I have also had this solve a lot of problems printing to custom box as well.

    I am no IT Geek and don't understand the implications of unticking this feature as this seems to have no adverse effect on anything else and their IT Dept were happy to try it.

    I have found a couple of links which explains it a bit better

    https://www.papercut.com/kb/Main/Ena...intingFeatures

    https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...n-windows-2000

    I will now be unticking this option on all future Printer installs

    So hopefully we shouldn't be getting as many calls For F248

  2. #2
    Field Supervisor 500+ Posts
    F248


    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    775
    Rep Power
    40

    Re: F248

    This may shed a little more light ....

    Enable Advanced Printing Features - Steve's Digicams

    Thanks for the heads-up.

  3. #3
    Technician
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    oxfordshire
    Posts
    26
    Rep Power
    21

    Re: F248

    Thanks

    That explains it far better than i ever could lol

    Again

    Cheers

  4. #4
    Field Supervisor 500+ Posts
    F248


    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    775
    Rep Power
    40

    Re: F248

    Your post is the first I've heard mention of this as a solution. Maybe this will help with a customer we have that has several machines connected to print through a server with no onsite IT.

    Every time they start getting F248 codes they call us. We can't tell who sent the print job and we can't delete the job from the queue because no one on site has Admin rights.
    We have to place a call to IT and wait until we get someone on the line so we can explain what they need to do from their end.

    I'm going to try and get these instruction forwarded to the right person in their IT dept and see about reducing these errors. So for sure thanks for the suggestion.

  5. #5
    Senior Tech 100+ Posts The_Murph's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Erie, CO
    Posts
    97
    Rep Power
    14

    Re: F248

    Quote Originally Posted by mossup View Post

    I will now be unticking this option on all future Printer installs

    So hopefully we shouldn't be getting as many calls For F248

    Be aware that by doing this as your default setup plan, you will undoubtably get clients calling about "slow printing." I have had clients with anywhere from 45 seconds in between printed pages up to several minutes. It really depends on how prominent of a problem it is. I look at it like silent mode, some clients appreciate the quiet more, however the majority of my clients prefer immediate copier response. Be wary of wishes made on the monkey paw, the unintended consequences can be painful.
    If you phrase your inquiry properly, you will get the answers you seek...

    Good Luck ... You'll need it! HAHAHA!

    ~Big Dan~

  6. #6
    Technician
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    oxfordshire
    Posts
    26
    Rep Power
    21

    Re: F248

    Yes i agree

    I see in the article Darry1 kindly put and it did mention slow printing , If customers have slow printing they are likely to contact their IT dept , whereas if they have an error code on the device they will contact us and expect us to fix it when we know it is not a hardware issue.

    I know this can also fix the mobility print issues on PaperCut ver 17.0 where the job would not release from the virtual print queue when printing from mobile devices.

    I have had more calls from issues with print jobs stuck in print queues & Error Codes F248 245 369 345 etc than customers complaining of slow printing.

    It may cause other issues that have not come to light as yet,but am more than willing to take a chance

  7. #7
    Field Supervisor 500+ Posts
    F248


    Join Date
    May 2009
    Location
    Concord, NH
    Posts
    771
    Rep Power
    50

    Re: F248

    Quote Originally Posted by mossup View Post
    Yes i agree

    I see in the article Darry1 kindly put and it did mention slow printing , If customers have slow printing they are likely to contact their IT dept , whereas if they have an error code on the device they will contact us and expect us to fix it when we know it is not a hardware issue.

    I know this can also fix the mobility print issues on PaperCut ver 17.0 where the job would not release from the virtual print queue when printing from mobile devices.

    I have had more calls from issues with print jobs stuck in print queues & Error Codes F248 245 369 345 etc than customers complaining of slow printing.

    It may cause other issues that have not come to light as yet,but am more than willing to take a chance
    The easiest way to avoid calls for an F248 code [bad print job] is to simply turn on the auto error clear on the unit. With this turned on the bad print job is automatically cleared from the queue after 30 seconds which I believe is the default. The F248 code is typically thrown by malformed or virus infected web pages. Turning on the auto error clear can be done from the control panel or via the web interface and we have walked users through the setup over the phone to eliminate a service call. Without the auto error clear turned on the offending print job will just constantly be resent by the print queue on the computer or print server, so clearing it from the unit does not resolve the issue. It also eliminates the need to "find" which user is sending the bad print job as they will report that they cannot print a page rather quickly and you can determine the offending web page.

  8. #8
    Senior Tech 100+ Posts daveh12's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    157
    Rep Power
    22

    Re: F248

    Quote Originally Posted by Santander View Post
    The easiest way to avoid calls for an F248 code [bad print job] is to simply turn on the auto error clear on the unit. With this turned on the bad print job is automatically cleared from the queue after 30 seconds which I believe is the default. The F248 code is typically thrown by malformed or virus infected web pages. Turning on the auto error clear can be done from the control panel or via the web interface and we have walked users through the setup over the phone to eliminate a service call. Without the auto error clear turned on the offending print job will just constantly be resent by the print queue on the computer or print server, so clearing it from the unit does not resolve the issue. It also eliminates the need to "find" which user is sending the bad print job as they will report that they cannot print a page rather quickly and you can determine the offending web page.
    Agree with this. The auto error clear is a blessing. At least if the costumer is not waiting on a call out etc and also it doesn't interfere with any other end user trying to print.


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

  9. #9
    Technician
    Join Date
    Nov 2012
    Location
    oxfordshire
    Posts
    26
    Rep Power
    21

    Re: F248

    Thanks Guys

    I think i found the setting under Device Setting then System on the command centre

    Just to Clarify its Auto Error Clear, just that there is also Error Job Skip would this need to be turned on as well?

    Suppose it wouldn't hurt having both on

  10. #10
    Technician aandy_py's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Posts
    15
    Rep Power
    15

    Re: F248

    Hi also make sure you have latest Firmware, I have updated and it cuts down on this issue significantly.

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Get the Android App
click or scan for the Copytechnet Mobile App

-= -= -= -= -=


IDrive Remote Backup

Lunarpages Internet Solutions

Advertise on Copytechnet

Your Link Here