Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Service Manager 1,000+ Posts
    307ci Printing Random characters

Morning troops,

Don't know if this has been asked/answered yet or not, but I have a customer with a 307ci in one of those "Mixed Use" office complexes, that every so often will print out a bunch of pages with the standard "Wingdings" font (Usually seen when someone is using the wrong print drivers). I've enabled User Accounts hoping that would resolve the issue, but short of putting an IP Trap on their network line to find out where those print jobs are coming from, I'm kind of stumped.

I've already turned off Air Print and Google Cloud Print.. are there any OTHER settings I can use to basically "Lock" the printer from anyone other than those with a valid User ID? I'm fairly new to Kyocera, so I haven't quite figured out all the tips and tricks yet. Any and all suggestions are welcome.

Thanks in advance!!

Senior Tech 250+ Posts PrintWhisperer's Avatar

Re: 307ci Printing Random characters

Depending on how many clients your are talking about, you can set up the IP filters on the device. You have to enter each IP which will be allowed to access the device. For printing via a server, only that IP should be entered, along with your administration PC, HyPAS app PC's or other authorized hosts.

If you are doing scan to email I am not sure how this will impact it. I have only made entries to the filter list by IP and not by hostname, I am not sure if it is supported.

Ensure the device printer settings have the Emulation set to AUTO.

Disable all other 'printable' ports/protocols like FTP, NetBIOS, POP3, WSD Print, IPP, etc.

Field Supervisor 500+ Posts

Quote Originally Posted by guitar9199 View Post
    Morning troops,