Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Trusted Tech 50+ Posts Copier Mechanic's Avatar

What is SKY SHOT used for?

hey guys,

Since I am fairly new to the copier industry, I wanted to ask here about the SKY SHOT thing that I have heard. What is exactly is it used for???

The Wolf 2,500+ Posts mojorolla's Avatar

Re: What is SKY SHOT used for?

Sky shot could be done in service mode to run full density pages to remove excess toner from DV units. It can also refer to lifting the ADF and making copies off the platen glass without a page on it.
    This is not to be confused with "the money shot" which is copying your ass off the glass.

Failing to plan is planning to fail!!!

Field Supervisor 500+ Posts

sky shot with the adf open would show you if you are getting full coverage over the entire printable area? hope i said that right.... someone else might explain it better.

Master Of The Obvious 10,000+ Posts

Lol.

Note: Do not use sky shots as an image quality test for black images. Depending on the angle of the room lights, you can get unaccountable gray shadows. I've wasted an embarrassing amount of time trying to fix those anomalies, only to later discover it was caused by room lights.

If your objective is to consume toner out of the developer mix (and that is a legitimate purpose), create an electronic image 8 1/2 x 11, with 25mm wide lead and trail voids, so you won't have to fish those heavy fill images out of the fuser, when they try to wrap onto the fuser roller. I might have an example:

Another reason you might want a skyshot is setting nipp width. That same electronic image works better than the sky shot. =^..^=
    Attached Files Attached Files
    If you'd like a serious answer to your request:
    1) demonstrate that you've read the manual
    2) demonstrate that you made some attempt to fix it.
    3) if you're going to ask about jams include the jam code.
    4) if you're going to ask about an error code include the error code.