Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Senior Tech 100+ Posts
    Lexmark X463de fuser replacement

I have a customer that has one of these Lexmark printers that wanted to know if I could replace the maintenance kit on it. I'm not a Lexmark tech, mainly kyocera & HP, but over the years I've worked on some Lexmark printers like the T640/T650 series. Fusers were pretty staightforward and easy to replace on those. How difficult is this X463de fuser to replace? I tried looking online for video's but couldn't find one for this exact model. Seems like many of the small to mid range MFP's that I did see a video for were pretty complicated, with every cover and even the scanner section having to be removed. This seems an overly arduous exercise just to replace a fuser. Since this is an optional task that I can always say no to if I don't feel comfortable doing it, is it worth the trouble? Just a few screws removing the cover on the back is fine, but completely disassembling a machine I have no experience in or back up parts in case I screw up isn't going to happen.

Service Manager 5,000+ Posts

Re: Lexmark X463de fuser replacement

.... the Lexmark X463de is several models ago discontinued. Replacing the fuser is both way too difficult and expensive on this model. Definitely a design flaw that has not been resolved even with Lexmark's current desktop devices.

I tried it once on a dead copier and had to remove so many parts, I was sure I would never get the copier back together again.

Service Manager 1,000+ Posts

The Series was called X460 so this should be the manual.

Not a piece of cake but I'm sure you've done harder jobs. And credit to Lexmark for including great pictures in their removal procedures.

https://laserpros.com/img/manuals/le...460-manual.pdf

Field Supervisor 500+ Posts

it is a chore for sure. not like many of them where you open the cover and remove a couple of screws. this one you will be there for awhile. i think it usually takes me about 30 min.