Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Senior Tech 100+ Posts
    Newbie - About me

Newbie - About me

Hello all, I am a new print tech in Soldotna Alaska. I'm being dropped into this with no prior experience in printers whatsoever. I do have 6+ years of home user\small business general IT. My employer's intention is to focus on service contracts for Kyocera TASKalfa series printers primarily so the month worth of online classes have been on Kyocera's learning center. That said our partner has various brands and locally I believe I will be servicing some of their smaller HP machines, currently waiting on registration for HP courses. I also had a week of hands on with our partner company to get a little field experience. That being said I'm stepping into this as green as can be and right now I'm in a state of limbo while our partner authorizes me to work on their contracts locally and my employer gets some printers\contracts sold. So until that stuff gets rolling I am just trying to sponge any information I can and get tied into any resources I can get my hands on, which led me here.

That's a little about me, so I guess I'll top this off with a question. I have completed some coursework on Kyocera NetAdmin\NetViewer\Device Manager\Fleet Services and I find myself having some trouble differentiating them all. It looks to me like they mostly cover the same groundwork and as far as I can tell the main difference is that some are cloud\not cloud and that some are for local administration vs truly remote administration (IE monitoring all contracted machines at various local businesses). It looks like KFS is the grand daddy of these with the most complete feature set, however it also looks like you need to be a dealer for access which we aren't yet. So with all of that said, will one of the other programs work off site without needing KFS or am I missing something entirely?