Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Bad Paper?

ALIEN OVERLORD 2,500+ Posts fixthecopier's Avatar

Bad Paper?

I am pretty sure that over the years I have been doing this, I have only blamed the paper for the machine 's problem a handful of times. I always believed that too many techs use paper as an excuse, when the machine could have been fixed. I have had customers tell me that another tech told them it was the paper, and I would smile and tell them to watch me fix it, because I am a real tech. If the paper is bad, you should be able to see it and prove it.

On Ft. Bragg, they are required to use recycled paper. The law requires government to use recycled, even though it cost a lot more. My state is VERY humid. Usually when I am showing the customer how to identify bad paper that is too humid, I can point to the ends curling up after going through the fuser, and the finished product looking like laundry that has not been ironed. The big thick separator fingers that Konica now uses, have been great, and rarely fail.

THE ISSUE...

Over the past couple of months, 2 of my Bizhub 600's have turned into a pain in my ass. The first one is my most used machine and has about 3 million on it. It sits in what was an old motel room about 6 feet from the door that seems to be open all day long. I fought it and changed stuff and made adjustments until it quit. I assume it quit, I had a second machine moved out there to take off some of the load, it may be dead and they just haven't called, but when last I was there, it ran.