Thread: MP 301 SC 899

MP 301 SC 899

I have had multiple MP 301's ( I am an onsite tech. for a large site) email me with SC 899 within the last week. There has to my knowledge been no on site changes to the servers. They all have up to date firmware including PCL. I have temporarily removed the VM cards from them all in an effort to see if it the Java not starting up, with no change. The manual says to cycle the power, update the firmaware or replace the controller PCB. I am having a hard time believing over a dozen controller PCBs have failed a the same time. Note all of these machines are 6 years old and are all under 260K, and are all on Innovolt surge protectors. Any help would be deeply appreciated.

Service Manager 1,000+ Posts
    MP 301  SC 899

Re: MP 301 SC 899

Usually a job printed from the internet. Need to find which computer is sending the offending job and remove it from the queue. Then check the driver of that computer and make sure it's PCL6. Universal drivers can be crap sometimes. The new V4 drivers are worthless.

Some machines have a custom firmware for this issue, but this model does not.

Could go into WIM and in the "Date/Time" section change smtp polling interval to "when printer is on" (have had success on some models with this for whatever reason).

There's new NCS firmware as of 11/18/19. The previous version 12.37 corrected SC899 when scanning to folder.

Have never had to replace a controller for this code.

Service Manager 1,000+ Posts Polarbear's Avatar

Quote Originally Posted by Drew Shackleton View Post