Senior Tech 250+ Posts
    MPC2551 Jam code J001 Doc feeder

I am a Konica production tech primarily and deal a much smaller amount with Ricoh's. I picked up a new customer recently that has a Ricoh MPC2551. They called me regarding a SC400 error. I cleaned the ID sensors and that seemed to clear that issue, but afterwards I started running the density adjustments in the maintenance screen. It would let me scan one print out for the test. I would then go to do the next resolution test and the machine would show a J001 in the doc feeder that I couldn't clear. Only way to continue was to cycle the power. Customer just called and said they now have a hard failure J001 and can't use the machine. What should I be looking for? Service manual only states "Original is stack at power-on" WTF does that mean? It's akin to "PC load letter"
    Thanks in advance.

Lee

Retired 10,000+ Posts

Re: MPC2551 Jam code J001 Doc feeder

A J001 is a jam detected at power on. Though that is a little misleading to those not trained on Ricoh. What it actually means is a jam discovered on resumption of operation or power on. It could be a bit of paper hung on a jam sensor or a bad jam sensor. It can also mean a defective door switch for a door that has to be opened to remove the jam. Frequently it is a door that was opened and not fully closed. If it occurs during operation it is a door switch that thinks the door was open while making prints. The small push button switches are subject to dust contamination.

Senior Tech 250+ Posts

Thank you! That is great information. So apparently Ricoh is very vague. KM's idle jam codes will pinpoint exactly which sensor it thinks is seeing the jam.
    I appreciate your help.

Lee

Retired 10,000+ Posts

Quote Originally Posted by wjurls View Post
    Thank you! That is great information. So apparently Ricoh is very vague. KM's idle jam codes will pinpoint exactly which sensor it thinks is seeing the jam.
    I appreciate your help.

Lee