Senior Tech 250+ Posts
    Ricoh MPS 3003 with code SC552-02 and a missing HD

We have a new customer that has a Ricoh MPS 3003 that is supposed to giving a SC552-02 service code. I have found that it is a fuser code. But for some reason, the customer has now said the HD is missing. I am not clear as to what came first as all the info, I have has come from my boss who is a salesman, not a tech.

I have little or no experience with Ricoh machines. I don’t know how to get them into service mode. I did find out that the HD is 500GB One of those would easy enough to come by.
    Once I get the machine going, I’m supposed to set it up to print and scan. Printing is no problem. However, I have never set up a Ricoh to scan to folder or scan to email. I have set up scanning (to folder and email) on Kyocera, Konica, Sharp, and Okidata so I am familiar with what that entails.

So here are my questions:

Can any HD be used as long as it's 500GB or larger?

If I replace the HD, is it just plug a new one in place of the old one and the machine will set the HD up once it is powered up?

Once the HD is in, are there any special things needed to be done before setting the device upon the network?

What is Error code SC552-02 all about?

Does that require a fuser replacement or rebuild?

I don’t like deals like this especially when the boss says stuff like ‘once we get this going, we will be able to sell them a new machine later’. In the meantime, we will give them inferior service because we are not a Ricoh dealer. However, I do understand these are hard times and we gotta do what we can to bring in money.

With that in mind, I would welcome any help and I do thank you in advance.

Service Manager 10,000+ Posts

Re: Ricoh MPS 3003 with code SC552-02 and a missing HD

Quote Originally Posted by Samanator View Post