Technician

Fast wide format Color printing high volume dilema

What do you do when your Ricoh 5100en customer now needs a fast color printer/scanner to produce 3000 "D" prints per month? KIP 800 series or HP Pagewide XL? My only experience servicing WF is Ricoh, and they offer no solution.
    At least 4 rolls is required. They have no interest in OCE. Thanks.

Master Of The Obvious 10,000+ Posts

Re: Fast wide format Color printing high volume dilema

I can confirm that the HP Pagewide XL will do the job. I've been incredibly impressed with these plotters. The heavier you run them the better they run. I have some experience with Kip, and there is no comparison. =^..^=
    If you'd like a serious answer to your request:
    1) demonstrate that you've read the manual
    2) demonstrate that you made some attempt to fix it.
    3) if you're going to ask about jams include the jam code.
    4) if you're going to ask about an error code include the error code.
    5) You are the person onsite. Only you can make observations.

blackcat: Master Of The Obvious =^..^=

Retired 10,000+ Posts

Yeah the 4 roll would be a problem for Ricoh color WF. They offer it in B/W but not color.

Service Manager 5,000+ Posts

The KIP 870 four roll system has a Canadian MSRP of $39,000. The KIP 890 with a MSRP of $53,000. Plus $800.00 in start up toner.

KIP 800 Series for Graphics Printing US - YouTube

I do not have enough info to compare the cost per square foot charge which at 3,000 D pages per month is significant. It sounds like a lot but for production wide format the KIP 870 could reliably do the job.

I suspect the KIP is more expensive to acquire than the HP but less expensive to operate with the Total cost of ownership in KIPs favor.

The KIP 800 series does have a very good built in cost calculator to help the end user accurately price jobs.

The service contract would be sold toner out.

On a 60 month lease that is 180,000 D size prints.