Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: MP501 VOID Area

Service Manager 2,500+ Posts
    MP501 VOID Area

MP501 VOID Area

Hi All.
    I don't normally post problems prior to visiting the customer to assess. I try and resolve the issue myself first, but I have very little experience with these boxes and frankly there doesn't seem to be much discussion in the forum about them either.

Customer has sent me the attached picture showing quite a wide void running the length of the page for any type of output. (The background that appears on the sample is not part of the problem as far as I'm aware).

The machine has about 80K on it. It has not displayed any recent SC codes as far as I know.

It could end up being something silly, like an obstruction of some sort, but I just thought I'd reach out in advance in case there is any history on it.

Thanks!
    MP501 sample.pdf

Re: MP501 VOID Area

Toner cartridge dumping toner on the laser shield glass. Or a pile of toner on the opening of the PCU that the laser scans through.

MP501 VOID Area

Quote Originally Posted by slimslob View Post
    Toner cartridge dumping toner on the laser shield glass. Or a pile of toner on the opening of the PCU that the laser scans through.
    Thanks Tim.
    Yes, I'm thinking its a collection of toner somewhere myself. I neglected to mention that he did own up to using compressed air that seemed to resolve it for a time. I hate it when people do that!

I'm thinking (1) the issue wasn't this bad before and (2) he loosened up a bunch of dust and toner and then the fans circulated it around the laser shield glass, (or something like that) and made the situation much worse.

Either way, I feel like it should be fairly straight forward

Quote Originally Posted by sandmanmac View Post
    Thanks Tim.
    Yes, I'm thinking its a collection of toner somewhere myself. I neglected to mention that he did own up to using compressed air that seemed to resolve it for a time. I hate it when people do that!