Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Senior Tech 250+ Posts ReproKev's Avatar

Ricoh MP 2553 rebooting

FYI - I'm a Canon tech that only occasionally works on other models, so I'm not intimately familiar with the Ricoh sp modes and have never done a firmware update on a Ricoh.

New customer calls me with a Ricoh MP 2553 stating that it reboots frequently when printing to it. I get there and test it to find that it also reboots when copying off the glass, and printing an internal counter page. As soon as the motors start moving, but before any paper gets fed, the machine reboots. Not every time, but about 10-20% of the time.

Machine only has 34k on it and looks almost new.

I checked sp7403 SC history and there were no codes listed.

Wasn't sure what else to check, so I told them I would do some research and get back to them.

To me, it seems like either firmware, memory, or hard drive is failing.

I also noticed a message in the lower left of the screen - " Updating @remote certificate" not sure if that's related.

IMG_1484(1).jpgIMG_1479.jpgIMG_1476.jpg

Is this a common problem? Any troubleshooting tips on this model to narrow down the issue?

Retired 10,000+ Posts
    Ricoh MP 2553 rebooting

Re: Ricoh MP 2553 rebooting

Sounds like SC Auto Reboot SP 5875-001 on. Change the setting to 1 and it should display the Service Code instead of rebooting.

Retired 10,000+ Posts
    Ricoh MP 2553 rebooting

Quote Originally Posted by ReproKev View Post
    I also noticed a message in the lower left of the screen - " Updating @remote certificate" not sure if that's related.

IMG_1476.jpg

Is this a common problem? Any troubleshooting tips on this model to narrow down the issue?