Technician
    eStudio 3540C not recognizing new toner cartridge

Have not arrived onsite yet, wanted to get a heads up before driving 40 miles there, then fumbling around. I'm a Konica Minolta tech, 43 years. Thank you!

Senior Tech 100+ Posts

Re: eStudio 3540C not recognizing new toner cartridge

Those particular models are notorious for that. Check that the small chip on the back of the toner cartridge is still there and clean. That small toner chip interfaces with another small board behind where the toner cart slides in. Clean those spring contacts well. Also makes sure that the front cover is closing correctly as if there is not enough pressure on the toner cart than the copier won't recognize the toner cart. Also I have seen the customer forget to pull out the white pull tab on the bottom of the toner cartridge before installing it.

Master Of The Obvious 10,000+ Posts

I've had power issues blow the chip on any one of the toner cartridges, usually magenta or cyan. If you were to take the chip from any toner cartridge (color doesn't matter) and install it on your full cartridge it will work (for a while). The most memorable was a eS2540C plugged into the same surge suppressor as a eS850. on a 20A circuit. You could watch the fluorescent lights flicker out when both machines were fired up at the same time.

Fortunately for me there were 4 separate circuits within reach. The customers logic was that they only had one surge suppressor ...

=^..^=
    Last edited by blackcat4866; 04-16-2020 at 02:05 AM.
    If you'd like a serious answer to your request:
    1) demonstrate that you've read the manual
    2) demonstrate that you made some attempt to fix it.
    3) if you're going to ask about jams include the jam code.
    4) if you're going to ask about an error code include the error code.
    5) You are the person onsite. Only you can make observations.

blackcat: Master Of The Obvious =^..^=

Field Supervisor 500+ Posts