Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Senior Tech 100+ Posts
    Phaser 7800 rebooting

Phaser 7800 rebooting

Have not even went on site yet. Here is the thing, I am a Konica Minolta tech with very limited Xerox experience (fun I know)

From basic researching of the internet it seems as though a failed HDD and/or corrupt software. HDD appears to have to be a specific one formatted to that model? On a Konica I can use any HDD and the machine will format it. Any basic tips to give a Konica Minolta tech? , and is there files/software that I will not have access to that I will need access to.

Thanks

Senior Tech 100+ Posts
    Phaser 7800 rebooting

Re: Phaser 7800 rebooting

Update: I have access to purchasing the HDD, I have downloaded the service manual and found the procedure for an "altboot" and also found the Firmware...

If I replace the hdd is there anything special I need to do , besides the obvious re configuring it for the customer.

Agitating Artificer 250+ Posts CopierTechofOmens's Avatar

Generics work. Follow the instructions. Folder name is all caps ALTBOOT in root of thumb drive.(nothing over 8GB. Place .dlm inside and your good to go

Senior Tech 250+ Posts
    Phaser 7800 rebooting

Okay the Phaser 7800 is a little bit different in what you have to do to fix your problem.

First, after you install the new HDD you must do a ALTBOOT with the FORCED_UPGRADE line in that folder as well the firmware .DLM file.

I would also replace the SD card as well.

Okay here is the trick you must first do the ALTBOOT with a very early version of the firmware 081.150.103.05600 or earlier.
    After it completes immediately perform a image overwrite. This will correctly format the new drive with the correct partitions. (The newer firmware’s do not correctly create all the partitions necessary.)