PDA

View Full Version : C5501 - IC 408 Calibration off glass


Custom Search


Stirton.M
10-19-2009, 08:54 PM
Greetings.

This should be a simple thing, I have done this a few times in the past on 6500s and 6501s. Doing a calibration for an IC 408.

I am getting an error: Calibration Error:

0x00000024

Measurement Page is not detected.

This error occurs on both Scanner and ColorCal adjustments (two different pages printed, one with both greyscale and colour strips, the other with just greyscale. I have the scales, two different types actually, and have tried using scan in portrait and landscape on glass.

We thought the problem was due to firmware and or fiery system software corruption. System was reinstalled...v2.0 and firmware on 5501 is up to v60. Neither of these steps worked. Also, we thought that perhaps it was a software switch. There is a known issue regarding the 6500 and an IC408...SoftSw 2-1 is set to 1 to allow copier to see fiery. This has also been tried, but made no difference.

Normally, I would just calibrate with an ES1000, but the customer chose to buy cheap and did not get one of these, so the glass option was the only option they have for daily calibration. Unfortunately this cannot be done this way and may force the customer to buy a hand held, or bug us whenever their colours are off. The latter we would prefer to avoid.

Any thoughts????

Si@danwood
10-19-2009, 09:07 PM
Well to be honest your customer deserves all the hassle they can get!!! Owning/runiing One of these machines without an ES1000 is criminal!! I suggest you charge heavily every time you attend with issues relating to lack of calibration!! As to you original post make sure you are using a standard size paper not the over size stuff(not sure of non metric measurements) and that the scanner mirrors are clean! If i was you though i would calibrate using an ES1000 then advise that further calibration visits would be at extra expense(we currently charge 130GBP per time)..SI

buster68
10-19-2009, 09:33 PM
First off, the salesman that sold a production copier with the Fiery, but left out the ES-1000 should be hung and quartered. Secondly, I didn't realize the Fiery's still supported calibration off the glass or autocal, that's an extremely antiquated and unreliable way to calibrate. As for the few customers we had that refused to buy an ES-1000 changed their mind when they found out we charge $250 bucks a session to come in and calibrate their equipment. But good luck to you.

Stirton.M
10-20-2009, 09:39 PM
Ok, thanks guys for your input.

It seems there is something seriously wrong with the setup. I have verified via a couple other machines, a 6501 with an IC304 and another 5501 with the 408, and both responded as expected.

The net result is this problem child machine refuses to even attempt the scan, with doesn't make any sense why it will not. I have compared management and machine settings lists and cannot find any differences between. I have also checked the cable direction (thinking the connector reversed might be the issue...not). I have verified that the scanner does work, both copying (registration is correct) as well as doing a scan to email, the fiery successfully sent the message.

I am going to try and swap cable as well as obtain another fiery to see by process of elimination.

Again, thanks...

Stirton.M
10-20-2009, 11:19 PM
Ok....after much gnashing and gnarling of teeth and many cups of coffee later, I found the problem was related to Copy Track being enabled on the machine. Regardless of being logged in as an authenticated user and all options allowed, I could not get the scan to happen. Even with a public account enabled, I could not get the scan to happen.

Resolution, temporarily disable copy track to do colourcal calibration.

Thanks for your help guys.

drodas78
03-17-2010, 05:00 AM
Ok....after much gnashing and gnarling of teeth and many cups of coffee later, I found the problem was related to Copy Track being enabled on the machine. Regardless of being logged in as an authenticated user and all options allowed, I could not get the scan to happen. Even with a public account enabled, I could not get the scan to happen.

Resolution, temporarily disable copy track to do colourcal calibration.

Thanks for your help guys.

Hi.

I'm having same problem, can you check this thread: the last response by me

http://www.copytechnet.com/forums/konica-minolta/32227-c6500-fiery-ic-408-embedded-print-controller-2.html

Can you explain me how to temporarily disable copy track to do colorcal calibration?

Regards.

RRodgers
03-17-2010, 06:14 AM
Ok....after much gnashing and gnarling of teeth and many cups of coffee later, I found the problem was related to Copy Track being enabled on the machine. Regardless of being logged in as an authenticated user and all options allowed, I could not get the scan to happen. Even with a public account enabled, I could not get the scan to happen.

Resolution, temporarily disable copy track to do colourcal calibration.

Thanks for your help guys.

Sorry I missed this. I would have told ya to check that.

RRodgers
03-17-2010, 06:15 AM
Hi.

I'm having same problem, can you check this thread: the last response by me

http://www.copytechnet.com/forums/konica-minolta/32227-c6500-fiery-ic-408-embedded-print-controller-2.html

Can you explain me how to temporarily disable copy track to do colorcal calibration?

Regards.

Log in and then try to do it. That's what I've done on the C500's. Maybe set the machine first so it won't log you out for like 9 minutes (which I think is the max)
let us know.

drodas78
03-17-2010, 06:55 PM
Log in and then try to do it. That's what I've done on the C500's. Maybe set the machine first so it won't log you out for like 9 minutes (which I think is the max)
let us know.

I think I don't understand you quite well. I have a PRO C6500. What do you mean by Log-in? I have tried to calibrate at the machine and with ColorWise Pro Tools logged with Comand Workstation but I got the same error both ways.

dljorg
06-08-2010, 01:24 AM
Amen to the drawing and quartering of sales people who do not sell equipment that will mean the customer is satisfied. Service ALWAYS gets the short end of that stick.

There is now a patch for Fiery System version 2.1 to fix the ColorCal thing - run automatic updates from CWS or the Windows Start menu on the Fiery.

RRodgers
06-08-2010, 01:34 AM
I believe you said you have USER AUTHENT turned on correct? If you are not "logged in" (via the control panel on the copier) then it won't scan the calibration chart. (at least it wouldn't on the C500's)

Stirton.M
06-08-2010, 04:51 AM
Amen to the drawing and quartering of sales people who do not sell equipment that will mean the customer is satisfied. Service ALWAYS gets the short end of that stick..
Truth be told, the customer was the one being extremely cheap on the sale. The machine was sold with the extreme bare essentials, no finisher, no large capacity tray. The sales rep tried, but in the end, the customer is a cheap sob. Thankfully they are not getting us to calibrate the machine for them, aside from my one foray....and thankfully they are barely using the machine. Since the machine was installed, they barely have 80 thousand clicks. Truth be told, they were oversold on the unit, but considering they want to do business cards with the thing, a C650 isn't enough of a machine to handle card stock the 5501 can do.


There is now a patch for Fiery System version 2.1 to fix the ColorCal thing - run automatic updates from CWS or the Windows Start menu on the Fiery.
This patch you speaking of, I found no reference to it in the TSB. The fiery is up to date on all the patches, automatic updates are enabled. It still does this. My impression is the machine itself and not the fiery, is the culprit, since the problem has to do with user authentication. Turning that off is the only solution. Logging in does nothing to fix the problem.

Cantechman
06-08-2010, 01:22 PM
I can never get my 5501 to scan that chart either. But to be honest it makes no difference anyway. After a pm I just run all my adjustments except that one and the customer is happy. They too have a barebones 5501, no extra trays or finisher. Its in a print shop and they are happy when I leave. They also realize that it may not be absolutely perfect (although its pretty close) without the proper calibration equipment.

Stirton.M
06-09-2010, 05:33 AM
We have, because of this customer and a few others, bought an ES1000 for the service calls that require it. For me, I just cannot leave a machine after a PM without the calibration. Partly pride in the product and mostly like I left my fly undone, this would bother me at some level.

It is possible to do the calibration with the chart, just turn off authentication, do the adjust and turn it back on. The only drawback however, is the chart calibration is rudimentary. The ES1000 is about 1000 times better, but that is a given.

And of course, some shops, though picky, are also quite able to "adjust on the fly" when colours don't quite match a certain pantone.

Onetouch
03-07-2013, 01:23 AM
I believe you said you have USER AUTHENT turned on correct? If you are not "logged in" (via the control panel on the copier) then it won't scan the calibration chart. (at least it wouldn't on the C500's)

Hi There,
I also have C500 with S300 Fiery I can print the "Colorcal Measurement Page" and when I replaced measurement page with "Kodak Gray Scale" on platen glass as I used to do before and I tried to calibrate it says "Measurement Page is not Detected" I cleaned the optic still no luck. By the way The fiery calibrate with another C500 and it's not the cable either. And as you mentioned above about USER AUTHENTICATION or COPY TRACK on the machine. I'm not sure what you mean exactly by those can you please give me more information or explain me how to do these steps. I would greatly appreciated any help as I'm totally dependent your given information now,
Thanks in advance.

Oz

RRodgers
03-07-2013, 02:16 AM
Hi There,
I also have C500 with S300 Fiery I can print the "Colorcal Measurement Page" and when I replaced measurement page with "Kodak Gray Scale" on platen glass as I used to do before and I tried to calibrate it says "Measurement Page is not Detected" I cleaned the optic still no luck. By the way The fiery calibrate with another C500 and it's not the cable either. And as you mentioned above about USER AUTHENTICATION or COPY TRACK on the machine. I'm not sure what you mean exactly by those can you please give me more information or explain me how to do these steps. I would greatly appreciated any help as I'm totally dependent your given information now,
Thanks in advance.

Oz
Are you in Ontario Ca? We service that area I'd be more than happy to come out on a service call bases and help you out.

Onetouch
03-07-2013, 02:27 AM
Are you in Ontario Ca? We service that area I'd be more than happy to come out on a service call bases and help you out.

I used to live in Ontario Canada but I moved to Montreal Quebec a year ago.

Custom Search