PDA

View Full Version : how to set a software switch


Custom Search


bronco31
01-13-2015, 06:56 PM
KM Bulletin 7528 details how to turn off end of life Unit Life messages , fusers, belts and IUs
special firmware then different TechRep Mode settings.. one of which details Software Switch settings in SW# 55 and 51..
simply set the HEX value and press FIX...

well it wont stick! the value i set will not stay! highlight HEX or the Sw# or the actual binary row.. no matter what the new values will not FIX...??

i searchd the SM and cant find any clues as to maybe another SW switch that allows the settings to FIX?
any KM techs seen/had this issue? thx for any help!

allan
01-13-2015, 07:14 PM
Model of machine? It would be a HEX value followed by a bit value then the bit state "0" or "1"

copier tech
01-13-2015, 09:52 PM
You need to update the firmware to enable you to set the "End life stop" settings etc

PeterG
01-14-2015, 05:53 AM
You are switching machine on/off after fix aren't you?

bronco31
01-14-2015, 09:51 PM
You need to update the firmware to enable you to set the "End life stop" settings etc

sorry.. u guys cant read my mnd?? :)
its a C353..
yep upgraded firm to R6 per bulletin..
hit FIX
powered off powered on

just will not stick.. the HEX value (which i understand is saved on the NVRAM) just will not change.. it returns to its previous value..
i need this as its soon going to call for all the Color IUs !
thx all..

guy

copier tech
01-14-2015, 10:04 PM
When you enter the HEX values, say D0 for switch 51 I think, only enter D, if you try & enter D and the 0 for some reason it doesn't fix!

bronco31
01-15-2015, 01:40 AM
When you enter the HEX values, say D0 for switch 51 I think, only enter D, if you try & enter D and the 0 for some reason it doesn't fix!

ok i'll try that.. but i remember also setting the binary switches which auto fills the HEX value.. and still didnt stick...value went back to what it was previously...

when copiers misbehave!

copier tech
01-15-2015, 08:37 AM
This can also happen if you dont have the life stop fw installed

emujo
01-15-2015, 06:03 PM
Here's my stab at it....Your MFP is bellow the function version required to use the R6 firmware. Set softswitch 25 to a HEX 30 ( I believe this is ver 3), cycle power, you will probably get an E002 error code (normal), if so, perform the HDD version up in service mode/state confirmation/HDD version up. After the update, cycle power again and try to set your switches. Emujo

bronco31
01-16-2015, 09:26 PM
i will try dpsw 25 thx....i may hv the solution ...gonna try this solution i just now found from the troubleshooting PDF27675...

thx... have a great weekend all...get outside, get some sun.. dont think about copiers!

bronco31
01-16-2015, 09:27 PM
although now that i look closely at this PDF solution...the wording for the steps to do is terrible...

sigh...

Custom Search