PDA

View Full Version : Dead Machine biz hub 203 firmware card error


Custom Search


aeshen2
05-26-2017, 03:19 PM
i got a biz hub 203 machine to repair the problem is machine not getting ready so i try to update the firm wear unfortunately card not working . so pl anyone can tell me wear i can get a card . pl any one can help me pl reply
thank you

Woxner
05-26-2017, 04:41 PM
internet

copier addict
05-26-2017, 11:48 PM
It has to be 128mb compact flash. Anything larger will fail every time.

copyman
05-27-2017, 04:23 AM
Also do NOT format the card! It will be unusable for this application.

Are you using K/M Toolkit to write the F/W?

Agree is has to be 128mb. Have used 256mb a few times but hit or miss. I know one brand that works is sandisk. Check ebay.

ck1
05-28-2017, 09:13 AM
can some help me to get the CF card can use it. i buy a lot from ebay also error :mad:

copier tech
05-28-2017, 12:30 PM
What software are you using to copy the firmware to the card?

ck1
05-29-2017, 09:23 AM
What software are you using to copy the firmware to the card?
I using Firmware Imaging Toolkit 2006insert cf to machine show invalid card

copier addict
05-29-2017, 02:53 PM
I using Firmware Imaging Toolkit 2006

insert cf to machine show invalid card

What size card are you trying to use?

copier tech
05-29-2017, 05:00 PM
This is what you need:

SanDisk 128MB CompactFlash Industrial CF (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/SanDisk-128MB-CompactFlash-Industrial-CF-/322505060304?hash=item4b16ccafd0:g:13EAAOSwB-1Y484Y)

Nommo
05-29-2017, 07:52 PM
It is possible to recover a CF card. There is proper documentation, just look for it.

ck1
05-30-2017, 12:16 PM
What size card are you trying to use?
128

aeshen2
06-01-2017, 09:26 AM
This is what you need:

SanDisk 128MB CompactFlash Industrial CF (http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/SanDisk-128MB-CompactFlash-Industrial-CF-/322505060304?hash=item4b16ccafd0:g:13EAAOSwB-1Y484Y)
thank you so much

emujo2
06-01-2017, 01:59 PM
If the card has been formatted for use in windows, it will NOT work in the MFP. The firmware toolkit will look like it's written the files correctly, but the copier cannot see due to the windows format. You can find free hex editor tools on the web, download and use the tool to overwrite the card 100% with 1/0s. This will remove any windows format then you can use the firmware toolkit to write the firmware to the card once again. Agree with the 128 MB size limit. You can always check the CF card by popping it into a windows slot. If you get a message "do you want to format this card" then it is either truly blank or has the VXWorks format needed for use with the toolkit. I have heard that others have has success with using a camera to do the same format. Not sure why, but KM took the format card option away with later versions of the toolkit, it's there, but remains greyed out. Emujo

copier addict
06-01-2017, 05:05 PM
If the card has been formatted for use in windows, it will NOT work in the MFP. The firmware toolkit will look like it's written the files correctly, but the copier cannot see due to the windows format. You can find free hex editor tools on the web, download and use the tool to overwrite the card 100% with 1/0s. This will remove any windows format then you can use the firmware toolkit to write the firmware to the card once again. Agree with the 128 MB size limit. You can always check the CF card by popping it into a windows slot. If you get a message "do you want to format this card" then it is either truly blank or has the VXWorks format needed for use with the toolkit. I have heard that others have has success with using a camera to do the same format. Not sure why, but KM took the format card option away with later versions of the toolkit, it's there, but remains greyed out. Emujo

Not to be contrary, but I have formatted my 128mb SimpleTech compact flash card many times and it still works to write firmware to the C353 series machines. Maybe I am just lucky. I have formatted both with Windows and the Imaging Toolkit. I'm not suggesting others do this, but just giving my experience.

907tec
06-01-2017, 08:14 PM
My understanding of FWToolkit2006 is that the "Write" function actually performs a vx format behind-the-scenes. I have been able to format my CF cards in Fat/Fat32 and then simply write the FW again using the Toolkit. Good initial test is to remove the CF card from your computer and then reinsert it: if Windows freaks out and tells you it needs to be formatted, you are on the right track.

copier tech
06-01-2017, 08:24 PM
My understanding of FWToolkit2006 is that the "Write" function actually performs a vx format behind-the-scenes. I have been able to format my CF cards in Fat/Fat32 and then simply write the FW again using the Toolkit. Good initial test is to remove the CF card from your computer and then reinsert it: if Windows freaks out and tells you it needs to be formatted, you are on the right track.

This post above is exactly correct.

I only buy used CF cards for these old boxes, so first thing I do is format the card in windows then using the firmware imaging tool kit create the firmware disk no issues at all only that the tool kit program is not compatible with Windows 10!

Just to recap formatting these cards will not cause an issue!

907tec
06-01-2017, 09:11 PM
FW Tookit 2006 works fine for me on W10 Pro, for whatever reason.

copier tech
06-01-2017, 09:22 PM
FW Tookit 2006 works fine for me on W10 Pro, for whatever reason.

Interesting, 32 or 64 bit win 10?

907tec
06-01-2017, 09:59 PM
64bit. I might be running it in compatibility mode, can't remember for sure.

Custom Search